We are excited to bring you the updated 2011 edition of The World Flag! Since its inception in 1988, there have been four different versions of The Flag; each edition offers a reflection of our world during that time in history. Some of the major changes on the 2011 World Flag are the Arab Spring nations connected in the shape of a bird in flight; the new flags of, Malawi, Libya, Lesotho, Burma, and Venezuela; and the addition of South Sudan as a new country.








The World Flag©2011








The Arab Spring connected in the shape of a bird in flight.


The five new flags and South Sudan are shown below:









Burma (Myanmar)

File:Flag of South Sudan.svg

South Sudan


In keeping with World Flag tradition, there are many symbolic reasons behind the placement of individual country flags. We’ll be exploring this symbolism in future blog posts so stay tuned!